Sun Down at Rodrigues Is.

There comes a time when I start to feel suffocated in my own environment. Too much work? Saturated? Emotionally drained? Family obligations? I donโ€™t know. What I know isโ€ฆ I need to escape!

So there, I took a flight to a neighbouring island, the Rodrigues Island. This island is what Mauritius was, MANY years back. Though it is not very rich in greenery, but whatโ€™s more important is that you can still see the horizon from almost everywhere. No pencil development. Less and less concrete. Limited deforestation. Amazing and welcoming people. JUST what I needed!

I booked a bungalow, named Le Cactus, whose owner Dary was exceptional. I do recommend this accommodation, which is found in Grand Baie, a bay tucked some 15-20 minutes away from the capital city – Port Mathurin. On one side, the mountain and trees and on the other side, the sea. In the middle: people, goats, chicken, CRABS! Omgโ€ฆ giant crabs!

Snaps of my first sun downing at Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island:

Low Tide at Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island
Low Tide at Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island
My feet sliding deep in sand at Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island
My feet sliding deep in sand at Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island
Trying to look past the Horizon at Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island
Trying to look past the Horizon at Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island
Sunset by Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island
Sunset by Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island
Peaceful Sunset at Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island
Eyeblowing Sunset at Grand Baie, Rodrigues Island

 

Leave a Reply

